Ruining a Bad Mood

fe7a38b9b82b721053d57ec77dc8ba85

 

Anyone ever had one of those days? Yep. Me too. Today for example. It seemed terrible.

Anyone who works with children knows how challenging it can be. Today was one of those challenging days. No one was listening. There were mean words, kicking, hitting, screaming, and tears. The list could go on, but I think you get the idea. Needless to say, this all left the adult in charge (me) in a very bad mood. I was just downright frustrated.

So this afternoon, I headed for a little pick-me-up:

DUNKIN DONUTS!

Can I get an “amen”? Thank the Lord for a french vanilla iced coffee no cream or sugar.

But this alone did not cure my mood.

You see, I’d been praying throughout the day that the Lord would help me to show Jesus to someone else (because that’s what I’d read about in my devotions this morning). The girls made this challenging. To me, it seemed completely impossible. I had no more magic fixes for this day.

But sitting there in that drive-through, God spoke to me through this thought, “Pay for the person’s order behind you.” I looked in my side mirror and didn’t recognize the person. I’ll probably never see her again in my life, but I did it anyway. And do you know what came over me?

Joy.

There’s no other word to explain it.

True kindness to someone else results in genuine joy.

This little act was simple, so very simple. But its results were major in my life this afternoon. It makes me think of a much more valuable act of kindness. Actually, it makes me think of an act of true love.

Many years ago, God the Father sent His only Son, Jesus, to die on a cross for my sins (and yours too). Why can I not show this kind of sacrificial love to the world around me? Jesus did it for me.

I am in no way saying this act of mine today should be praised. It’s far too minuscule to even gain recognition, but if I can make a difference in one person’s life, maybe, just maybe they’ll know that there is true kindness and love to be found. And that is found in Jesus alone.

So the next time you’re tempted to be grumpy, remember the kindness of God in your life and share that kindness with someone else.

Leave a Reply

